logoSign upLog in
Music Reviews/Columns - beBee

Music Reviews/Columns

~ 100 buzzes
You've found the spot to share reviews or columns relating to recorded or live music. Seize the opportunity to share your views and opinions on the artists of yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Help your fellow bees to make informed decisions when contemplating the purchase of recorded music or concert tickets.
Buzzes
  1. Pete Winwood

    Pete Winwood

    24/06/2017
    *My daughter my awe inspiring model*

    Pleased to announce the single - Flames in June - has now been officially re-released on over 200 digital stores worldwide and my daughter is the star of the single cover.

    She is driving the retro unforgettable mini red and yellow play car. The picture was taken at my brother-in-laws back garden and she looked too cute, so I couldn't resist a quick snap shot.

    The single is a summer tune with a catchy chorus and a progressive sound. Getting you in the mood for summer and those lazy Sunday afternoons with beer in hand and music playing.

    - Digital distribution will be handled by AWAL @ Kobalt, starting a fiery partnership for future releases.

    - You can follow me @ mp3song.biz

    iTunes -

    Spotify - https://open.spotify.com/artist/6N8VHjQWY6xUrSS5JFMEMf

    More to be released over the up and coming months.

    So if interested, please share and get involved.

    Kind Regards

    Pete Winwood and the team
    http://mp3song.biz
    Pete Winwood
    Pete Winwood on Apple Music
    itunes.apple.com Listen to songs and albums by Pete Winwood, including "Best Days in June (Acoustic) [Alternative Version]" and "Flames in June". Free with an Apple Music...
    Relevant
  2. George Maifair

    George Maifair

    18/04/2017
    The Weeks are a great rising southern rock band with a blues influence. My review and pictures from their recent secret show at Nelson's Green Brier Distillery in Nashville, TN. Published on East of 8th music blog!
    George Maifair
    REVIEW: THE WEEKS – SECRET SHOW
    eastof8th.com Nestled in a repurposed warehouse district, Nelson’s Green Brier Distillery is a bit of a Nashville hidden gem. Within the classic-meets-modern bourbon maker is a wonderful concert space,...
    Relevant
  3. George Maifair

    George Maifair

    10/04/2017
    My concert review of Rising Appalachia at the Cannery Ballroom in Nashville: "Rising Appalachia is more than just a band–it’s a rallying cry in support of world music, social and economic justice, and cultural preservation." Pictures by Sammi Maifair
    George Maifair
    LIVE SHOW REVIEW: RISING APPALACHIA at CANNERY BALLROOM
    eastof8th.com Rising Appalachia is more than just a band–it’s a rallying cry in support of world music, social and economic justice, and cultural preservation. Upon entering the Cannery Ballroom last...
    Relevant
  4. Miss Keke Queen of Krunk
    LONG TIME NO BEE!!!
    LISTEN LIKE AND SHARE..
    LET ME KNOW IF ITS BUZZIN
    ENJOY..
    Miss Keke Queen of Krunk
    ANOTHER HIT I WONDER
    soundcloud.com INDEPENDENT...
    Relevant
  5. George Maifair

    George Maifair

    28/02/2017
    My recent show review of the Delta Saints at The Basement in Nashville, TN published via @eastof8th blog!
    George Maifair
    LIVE SHOW REVIEW: THE DELTA SAINTS at THE BASEMENT
    eastof8th.com Fans and friends of Nashville favorites, The Delta Saints, packed the always intimate Basement for the release of “California,’ the band’s first single from their new album, Monte...
    Relevant
  6. George Maifair

    George Maifair

    15/02/2017
    My recent album review of American Folkana artist Travis Linville published by @MotherChurchPew music blog
    George Maifair
    Album Review: Travis Linville - Up Ahead
    www.motherchurchpew.com Rarely does an album title so aptly apply to a complete track list as it does for Up Ahead, the forthcoming release from Americana/folk artist Travis Linville; Linville invites us to think of 'up ahead' as a question, a direction, and a place in...
    Relevant
  7. George Maifair

    George Maifair

    07/02/2017
    'Wild Adriatic prides themselves on their musical and lyrical maturation—embracing soul and blues while keeping the swampy grit and energy of their classic southern rock influences.' --My recent album review published on @eastof8thblog
    George Maifair
    ALBUM REVIEW: “FEEL” by WILD ADRIATIC
    eastof8th.com Wild Adriatic prides itself on its concert vibe, so the band decided to capture the thrill of their live show on their forthcoming album, Feel; as frontman Travis Gray explains, “These songs...
    Relevant
  8. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    29/01/2017
    The British Invasion and Return of the Turntable
    The British Invasion and Return of the TurntableI found myself waking up very early Saturday morning, so I brewed a pot of coffee and contemplated the day ahead.It was 5 a.m. The only item on my agenda was breakfast with a friend at 9:30 and a haircut followiing.What the hell was I going to do in...
    Relevant

    Comments

  9. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    12/01/2017
    Looking for Rhyme or Reason Within R&B
    Looking for Rhyme or Reason Within R&BWhat could be more perplexing today than trying to define rhythm and blues?Record company executive Jerry Wexler is credited with creating the term, using it to define the music popularized by African-Americans living in metropolitan areas during...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Kevin Pashuk
    13/01/2017 #7 Kevin Pashuk
    Enjoyed the read @Randy Keho... Some of us who are old as dirt remember when R&B went 'mainstream'...
    🐝 Fatima G. Williams
    13/01/2017 #6 🐝 Fatima G. Williams
    That's alot of information on R&B. Very interesting to know it's orgin. Thanks @Randy Keho
    Franci🐝Eugenia Hoffman, beBee Brand Ambassador
    13/01/2017 #5 Franci🐝Eugenia Hoffman, beBee Brand Ambassador
    Great share on history of R&B. Your website rocks!
    Jim Murray
    13/01/2017 #4 Jim Murray
    Great Post Randy...rock on.
    Pascal Derrien
    12/01/2017 #2 Pascal Derrien
    A good take on multi level topic :-)
    Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    12/01/2017 #1 Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    Great perspective there...in black and white...and LOL Randy! Won't tell the ol Rollers cross my heart ;) Hey, good luck with the barjammers.com website and a Friday the 13th with Purple Hell (man, that rings a bell!)!
  10. ProducerHenri Galvão

    Henri Galvão

    19/12/2016
    10 more great singles from 2016
    10 more great singles from 2016This text is more or less a sequel to the one I’ve published here back in June. Once again, I talk a little about 10 great tracks I’ve been digging a lot these last six months. Some of them are from very well-known musicians, while others were...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Lyon Brave
    30/12/2016 #3 Lyon Brave
    cool vibes
    Henri Galvão
    19/12/2016 #2 Henri Galvão
    #1 thank you, Irene! that's very kind of you :-)
  11. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    15/12/2016
    Barside Jive Airs Interview with Cheap Trick's Bun E. Carlos
    Barside Jive Airs Interview with Cheap Trick's Bun E. Carlos As promised, here's DC's Youtube interview with Bun E. Carlos, drummer and founding member of Cheap Trick. It was recorded at Mary's Place in Rockford, Illinois, which is hometown to Carlos and -- your's truly.It's very extensive, running for more...
    Relevant
  12. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    12/12/2016
    Youtube Music Show to Air Interview with Cheap Trick's Bun E. Carlos at Mary's Place
    Youtube Music Show to Air Interview with Cheap Trick's Bun E. Carlos at Mary's PlaceI've always loved Rockford, Illinois. It's my hometown. It's certainly had its up and downs, but its always supported a vibrant music scene.Numerous bars catering to live music have come and gone, but one has withstood the test of time, partly due...
    Relevant
  13. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    07/12/2016
    Discovering Lauper & Davis Before They Were Famous
    Discovering Lauper & Davis Before They Were Famous I experimented with a lot of things in college, but the only one I got addicted to was music.I couldn't wait to get my next fix. And, best of all, it didn't cost me a dime.All I had to do was walk down one of the many hallways of my 14-story...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Margaret Aranda, MD, PhD
    11/12/2016 #8 Margaret Aranda, MD, PhD
    Great reminiscence and could almost hear those hallways! Chicago is one of the most well-liked cities in the nation, despite the cold. That eclectic melting-pot is nice an culturally varied. Great experience and love all the 'albums.' ;)
    Sarah Elkins
    08/12/2016 #7 Sarah Elkins
    #6 My husband shared that with me. He started playing it and said: "Guess who this is." It took me a few bars, but then heard Cyndi's signature dip of the high note and said: "Of course! It"s Cyndi Lauper!" When I perform that song, it's a combination of her version and the original Etta James in my head and my heart.
    Randy Keho
    08/12/2016 #6 Randy Keho
    Thanks everyone. I'm glad you enjoy the posts.
    A special thanks to @Sarah Elkins for the link to Cyndi's rendition of "At Last." I don't recall ever hearing it before. It's awesome. Reminds me of the duet's album with Tony Bennett and Lady Gaga.
    I could listen to Cyndi sing the phone book (Do they have those anymore?). @Gert Scholtz @Praveen Raj Gullepalli @Pascal Darrien #1
    Sarah Elkins
    08/12/2016 #5 Sarah Elkins
    I really enjoy @Randy Keho's music posts (and his non-music posts), and this one does not disappoint. Don't miss the music links - and I added one in my comment here.
    Sarah Elkins
    07/12/2016 #4 Sarah Elkins
    I have always loved Cyndi Lauper, but she absolutely took it to another level when I heard this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZhRTUbv5J_Q View more
    I have always loved Cyndi Lauper, but she absolutely took it to another level when I heard this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZhRTUbv5J_Q. And then - I saw a video of her singing to entertain a bunch of women at a Southwest Airlines counter when a flight was canceled and hundreds were stranded at the airport. Solid woman, solid vocalist, solid artist. Thanks for sharing this side of her, @Randy Keho. Close
    Gert Scholtz
    07/12/2016 #3 Gert Scholtz
    @Randy Keho Never knew this background of Cyndi Lauper. What a voice! My favorite - Time After Time. Always interesting to read your music posts Randy.
    Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    07/12/2016 #2 Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    Whoa Randy...you touched chords there! I heard Only the Lonely back when it was released..on radio...and the last time I heard it was last month! Am lost in the 70s and 80s for good! Squeaky Cindy was an instant hit...even my Grandma(R.I.P.) who couldn't understand a syllable of English would request encores of GJWHFun time and again, time after time! ;) And man, wasn't her's the loudest voice on We are the World? Hey I missed a lot of buzzes past fortnight...was travellin and now back on the move for another week...down South..Bengaluru...but will check in!
    Pascal Derrien
    07/12/2016 #1 Pascal Derrien
    love those music articles :-) keep them coming
  14. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    18/11/2016
    Check Out Record Store Day: Black Friday Style
    Check Out Record Store Day: Black Friday StyleWith Christmas just around the corner, Record Store Day organizers are jumping on the Black Friday bandwagon.Black Friday, which is the day after Thanksgiving in the United States, is traditionally known as the first shopping day of the Christmas...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Margaret Aranda, MD, PhD
    26/11/2016 #7 Margaret Aranda, MD, PhD
    Lovely and very reminiscent. Rock 'n Roll! ~🎀Mags.
    Gert Scholtz
    19/11/2016 #6 Gert Scholtz
    @Randy Keho There's just nothing like music on vinyl. Carefully taking a record out of its cover so as not to blemish it with fingerprints, delicately placing the needle on the edge and then the slightly scratchy but rich sound forthcoming - all part of the pleasure. I still have and play records bought in my school years . Interesting article - I'm with you on the preference - thank you Randy.
    Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    19/11/2016 #5 Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    #4 No sayin it! A record in hand is worth a lotta digitals in the bush;) As a kid I used to get the most mondo-super-awesome-spaced-out feeling listening to The Dark Side of the Moon wearing a Sony headset! The sound effects map from left to right channel and over and behind on Breathe...making me feel as if I was suspended in space. Bose speakers!? Those sure would leave one speechless dear Randy! :)
    Randy Keho
    19/11/2016 #4 Randy Keho
    #2 Digital is very convenient, but, for me, there's nothing like holding a full-size album cover in my hands and listening to the record while it spins on a turntable.
    When the family's gone, I turn the system up to 10 and rattle the windows.
    I do appreciate the technological advances in speakers, though. I love my Bose surround sound system. It's their top-of-line, with nine mini-speakers that can blast beyond what my ears can handle and they don't take up much room. It was a bit pricey, but well worth it.
    I bought a SACD compact disc player (Super Audio Compact Disc), which provides multi-channel listening. However, the CD must be SACD to get the full effect and their are very few available in the rock format. Most are classical. Fortunately, it plays regular CDs, too. It turned out to be fad. It never took off.
    Nonetheless, Pink Floyd's "Dark Side of the Moon" is available in SACD. It's awesome.
    Randy Keho
    19/11/2016 #3 Randy Keho
    #1 I discovered Rory Gallagher through a buddy of mine from high school who's been a studio musician in LA for years. His uncle, who stayed with them for a while in the states, was in a band that later became Mott the Hoople. My buddy's family was originally from England. He recently posted a pic of the band from back in the day on Facebook.
    Record Day is celebrated around the world, but the site only caters to the states.
    Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    19/11/2016 #2 Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    Wow randy I'd go nuts in a store like that! Honest Injun, i stopped buying music with the advent of the CDs...unless very rarely. My brother gifted me dozens of CDs from his own collection pained at my decision. Another brother got me an unending supply of video downloads of cool movies from his collection, understanding my love for both. But yes, i downloaded loads of my old favourites' digital versions at great cost (the telephone bills blew our minds too ;) ...or converted analog to digital painstakingly, manually. So happy that you can go back in time and plug in those holes with vinyls! Nothing to beat the sound of the turntable blaring through large wooden speaker ensembles, the bass and the riffs thudding away at your heart, amped up and ramped up! You reminded me of a sentimental favourite ''If you want my love ...'' Cheap Trick! ;) Keep spinning your stuff Randy-man!
    Pascal Derrien
    19/11/2016 #1 Pascal Derrien
    Record Store Day is a great initiative, I used to save all my pocket money and buy one or two LPs every Saturday double albums were like a book to me I also liked going to an Import shop called Juke Box they one or two albums of artists not released in Europe. My local Tower Records have a great selection of LPs, I kind of think it is a swan song anyway and it will probably not last, I found CD's very convenient though but I have struggled moving on to digital only..... You may want to check Rory Gallagher I think they re issued some his albums :-)
  15. ProducerGert Scholtz

    Gert Scholtz

    08/11/2016
    The Story of Sixto Rodriguez
    The Story of Sixto Rodriguez Sixto Rodriguez. Unknown in his home country the USA for forty years after he produced his hit songs. In the seventies he composed numbers such as Forget It, Sugar Man and Crucify Your Mind. A mix of folk, rock and pop which immediately took off...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Tausif Mundrawala
    28/03/2017 #21 Tausif Mundrawala
    Thanks Gert for introducing me to this great personality. He really proved that talent knew no boundaries and rather than making big at home he was famous elsewhere. His life deserves an autobiography, documentary, movies etc. The generosity of his fans is noteworthy which took them straight to him. This buzz proves that the hard work we do never goes unrecognized.

    Thanks for sharing it with us.
    Claire L Cardwell
    06/03/2017 #20 Claire L Cardwell
    Thanks for tagging me on this one @Gert Scholtz! It's remarkable synchronicity isn't it? I posted some of his songs last night, now your great article popped up and I now see that @Jim Murray also wrote a piece on Rodriguez!
    Gert Scholtz
    05/03/2017 #19 Gert Scholtz
    @Claire L Cardwell Tagging you on this one Claire.
    Devesh 🐝 Bhatt
    04/03/2017 #18 Devesh 🐝 Bhatt
    He is a superstar in the tibetan community even today.
    Jim Murray
    17/11/2016 #16 Jim Murray
    #5 Synchronicity was what I was thinking too, @Gert Scholtz. Your was more of a review. Mine was more of a story about discovering this film. Nice piece. Been busy packing and haven't been reading as much as usual.
    CityVP 🐝 Manjit
    17/11/2016 #15 CityVP 🐝 Manjit
    Searching for Sugar Man is probably one of the best documentaries I have ever watched. Even when I know the end result (and I am of that ilk that does not like to engage in a spoiler alert - and that horse bolted here some time ago) it is the kind of documentary that I can watch multiple times. The chief reason is the music, if not also the man. It is a documentary that hits home what one group of people may feel and how another culture cannot connect those dots, as well as a story that speaks across a generational timescale. Indeed having read this buzz, I feel the inkling to watch that film again soon. It is that good.
    Gert Scholtz
    10/11/2016 #14 Gert Scholtz
    @David B. Grinberg His story must be one of the most remarkable in the music industry - perhaps a lesson in life. Thanks for reading and commenting David - always appreciated.
    Gert Scholtz
    10/11/2016 #13 Gert Scholtz
    @Henri Galvão The movie is excellent - do watch when you can. His music is unique and his lyrics that of a poet and philosopher. Thanks for your comments Henri.
    David B. Grinberg
    09/11/2016 #11 David B. Grinberg
    Nice buzz, Gert. He certainly has an interesting back story and has admirably remained close to his roots.
    Henri Galvão
    09/11/2016 #10 Henri Galvão
    #5 thank you for the mention, Gert! I still don't know his music, as I want to watch the movie first :-D
    Ken Boddie
    09/11/2016 #9 Ken Boddie
    And to think I almost missed this buzz and @Paul Walters' amazingly coincidental comment. Great spotlight, Gert, on the dice throw that can be the music industry.
    Pascal Derrien
    09/11/2016 #8 Pascal Derrien
    Never heard of him before today, thanks for the spotlight @Gert Scholtz :-)
    Gert Scholtz
    09/11/2016 #7 Gert Scholtz
    @Susan 🐝 Botello The shooting of the movie with a smartphone just adds to the uniqueness of these events. Thanks for reading and commenting Susan.
    Gert Scholtz
    09/11/2016 #6 Gert Scholtz
    #1 Mark - he is indeed and amazing person. Thanks for reading and commenting. If you get the chance, I highly recommend the film.
    Gert Scholtz
    09/11/2016 #5 Gert Scholtz
    @Paul Walters Unbelievable! - That you shared a room with Segerman (Sugar) who was one of the guys that went to look for Rodriguez! Thanks for pointing me also to the post of @Jim Murray post of a few days ago - pure synchronicity. Tagging @Henri Galvão @Andrew Porter and @Randy Keho who might enjoy the post with your comment below.
    Paul Walters
    09/11/2016 #3 Paul Walters
    @Gert Scholtz This is the second piece on Rodriguez in the past week!!! I shared a dorm room at Rhodes university with a fellow whom went by the name of Sugar . It was he who was obsessed with finding him. The clue was in the title track from the Cold Fact album " met a girl from Delluth early six o' clock this morn a cold fact" This was the suburb he travelled to outside Detroit and there he was ! I have seen him play twice now, once at the Byron Bay Blues Festival in Oz and In Vancouver. hes a little frail and still only plays the twelve songs from Cold Fact. As for Sugar, he has a very successful record store in Cape Town called Mambo Records, a big tourist spot!! Rodriguez had a profound effect on my while at university in when the 'troubles in SA began.
    Susan 🐝 Botello
    08/11/2016 #2 Susan 🐝 Botello
    This film was partially shot with a smartphone. I remember it was mentioned during one of the interviews about smartphone filmmaking someone contacted me about. The story is unbelievable isn't it? Great film and a good ending.
    Mark Anthony
    08/11/2016 #1 Mark Anthony
    Thankyou for this lovely story . Thoroughly enjoyed the read and what an interesting and humble sounding man Sixto is .
  16. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    17/11/2016
    "Judas!" Leads to 36-CD Box Set from Bob Dylan
    "Judas!" Leads to 36-CD Box Set from Bob Dylan I'm not a fan of live albums. Most are a disappointment.Either the sound quality of the recording is horrendous or the sound system used couldn't adequately reproduce the artful effects created in the studio.The same goes for the live shows...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Margaret Aranda, MD, PhD
    26/11/2016 #3 Margaret Aranda, MD, PhD
    Agree with all! Great editorial. (If you were on Wordpress, I'd Re-Press this!) ~Mags 🎀
    Gerald Hecht
    17/11/2016 #2 Gerald Hecht
    #1 @Randy Keho How about yesterday? He did "it" again...there are so many "it" thingies...but they always have that "hand-buzzer jolt" which always seems to come around when civilization needs it most : "going electric", "religious conversion", "religious unconversion", "hello , Mr./Ms./Dr. Nobel Prize rep...umm yea...just calling to let you know ...RSVP, etc., that I can't come to Stockholm for the ceremony; I've got a show that night in Akron, Ohio or maybe Joplin Missouri...I forget exactly, but umm...yeah, umm anyway I can give you a shipping address and let you know when I receive it; okay...bye.
  17. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    11/11/2016
    Following Careers of Independent Artists Leads to Meet-and-Greets
    Following Careers of Independent Artists Leads to Meet-and-GreetsThere were distinct advantages to being a music critic at a daily newspaper prior to the advent of the internet.I was always getting stuff in the mail. Granted. A lot of it was junk, similar to what we now call spam.But, I occasionally received some...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Pascal Derrien
    11/11/2016 #1 Pascal Derrien
    I agree receiving by mail physical CDs or even Lps were far more gratifying than the drop/stream link I receive currently every now and again a PR guys is asking if you want a CD version but very rarely nowadays :-)
  18. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    04/11/2016
    Former DJ Recalls Following Yellow Brick Road
    Former DJ Recalls Following Yellow Brick Road There are times in my life that I can look back upon and smile. They bring back nothing but fond memories.They're mostly from my college days, when I was footloose and fancy free. In the early days, I wasn't much of a student. Looking back, I...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Kevin Pashuk
    04/11/2016 #1 Kevin Pashuk
    ... and here I thought you were going to talk about Elton John's classic. But munchkins made up for it.
  19. ProducerHenri Galvão

    Henri Galvão

    27/10/2016
    You Want It Darker: a testimony to the sense of urgency
    You Want It Darker: a testimony to the sense of urgencyBack in 2004, when Leonard Cohen released Dear Heather, there was a feeling that maybe he didn’t have that much more to say. Or, to be more precise, maybe he wouldn’t have the time to say it, given how long he usually takes to finish a single...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Henri Galvão
    18/11/2016 #4 Henri Galvão
    #3 indeed. fortunately, with his music he'll be with us forever
    Randy Keho
    18/11/2016 #3 Randy Keho
    #2 Thankfully, recorded music is everlasting, always there for us to enjoy, like a good book.
    Henri Galvão
    27/10/2016 #2 Henri Galvão
    #1 thank you a lot, Gert! it's great to have the opportunity to celebrate him while he's still with us
    Gert Scholtz
    27/10/2016 #1 Gert Scholtz
    @Henri Galvão Brilliant post of one of the most accomplished musicians alive. Thanks Henri.
  20. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    26/10/2016
    Rolling Stone Magazine: Rediscovering the Counterculture's Bible
    Rolling Stone Magazine: Rediscovering the Counterculture's BibleI finally took the time to rummage through a wall of boxes that I've had stored in my parent's basement for more than 20 years. It was a trip, literally. The boxes contain an assortment of books and youthful memories. Most are sentimental items that...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Chas ✌️ Wyatt
    27/10/2016 #20 Chas ✌️ Wyatt
    I thought the counterculture's bible was the "Berkeley Barb"; I believe I still have a copy of that paper. Nice buzz(I still remember the esoteric meaning of that phrase and still have long hair). ;-)
    Randy Keho
    27/10/2016 #19 Randy Keho
    #18 It's always a pleasure to entertain you @Franci🐝Eugenia Hoffman, beBee Brand Ambassador I thought you might get a kick out of this. We were all young once and memory lane led us to where we are today.
    Franci🐝Eugenia Hoffman, beBee Brand Ambassador
    27/10/2016 #18 Franci🐝Eugenia Hoffman, beBee Brand Ambassador
    Wowsa! I love this blast from the past! Thank you, @Randy Keho, not just for your well written story but also for taking me down memory lane.
    Randy Keho
    27/10/2016 #15 Randy Keho
    #14 Age is only a number that increases until the good Lord resets at zero.
    Gert Scholtz
    26/10/2016 #12 Gert Scholtz
    @Randy Keho Fascinating facts and story around Woodstock. Thanks for a thoroughly good read Randy.
    Randy Keho
    26/10/2016 #11 Randy Keho
    #9 Yep. I mentioned it in the buzz. How soon we forget. Not you, Fonda.
    Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    26/10/2016 #8 Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    #7 Muchas Gracias dear Randy!
    Randy Keho
    26/10/2016 #7 Randy Keho
    I'd be glad to do that for you @Praveen Raj Gullepalli It's like being in a time machine. I'm a firm believer that we must preserve history in all its forms.#6
    Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    26/10/2016 #6 Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    #5 Wow! Life from the 40s?! You gotta upload a page or two from them books sometime! Man that's ancient! Hang on to that goldmine dear Randy!
    Randy Keho
    26/10/2016 #5 Randy Keho
    #3 Thanks, @Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    My jaded eyes just can't stand to read about some Hollywood actor's opinions on fashion or Pokémon Go, which consumes way too many pages of my former bible. When I was in college, I used to grab the latest edition of Rolling Stone, smoke a bowl, and head to the Laundromat. Those were the days.
    I also have about 30 Life and Look magazines from the 1940s, the war years. I found them in the attic of my parent's previous house. It's neat to see Hollywood legends in uniform on the front cover. The photography was astounding.
    Randy Keho
    26/10/2016 #4 Randy Keho
    I must say that I gave serious thought this morning to selling everything and getting the hell out of Dodge for good. It was 45 degrees Fahrenheit and raining. I've been reluctant to put my new Mustang convertible into storage for the winter, but I'd better do it pretty soon. I'm about ready to hitchhike to the coast and board a tramp steamer heading toward Bali. Do they still have those? The tall one can fend for herself.#2
    Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    26/10/2016 #3 Praveen Raj Gullepalli
    Awesome trip down memory lane dear Randy...though I am more of the next gen if I sit next to you! Who doesn't know about Woodstock! But you really put a new angle to it - inside out perspective kinda. I got my hands on a few copies of the RS in the eighties from buddies visiting. We now have an Indian edition of it too! Still an engaging magazine for most of us I'd say...we had some local flavours coming in to compete, like that Upbeat/Rock Street Journal/Raga etc but they could not make a stand. You are sitting on a treasure I'd say! I have a couple of LIFE mags from the 60s...I hold on to them for ol times sake!
    Paul Walters
    26/10/2016 #2 Paul Walters
    @Randy Keho cool. Hold onto those issues..they could be valuable. Auction them off and that should cover the tickets for you and the tall one to fly to Bali....first class of course!!
  21. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    20/10/2016
    Hall Announces 2017 Nominees: It's Only Rock 'n' Roll?
    Hall Announces 2017 Nominees: It's Only Rock 'n' Roll?The Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame is a prime example of how today's overzealous attempts to achieve an all-inclusive society can turn unity into chaos and political correctness into fear and loathing.As the Rolling Stone's sang, "It's Only Rock 'n'...
    Relevant

    Comments

    Randy Keho
    25/10/2016 #7 Randy Keho
    #6 Nope. It's not much of a stretch now. But, that's because the hall's been getting watered down for years.
    Henri Galvão
    24/10/2016 #6 Henri Galvão
    If we take into account that the Hall of Fame intends to honor those who, somehow, have influenced the development of the genre, them all of those names make sense to me (although I admit that I don't know a few of them). I've just taken a look at the list of inductees, and I see that Marvin Gaye and Bob Marley are already there. So, to put an influential rapper such as Tupac wouldn't be that much of a stretch imo
    Randy Keho
    20/10/2016 #4 Randy Keho
    #2 I agree @Andrew Porter The nominees and eventual selections have been poor for quite some time.
    I'm still holding onto hope for R.E.O Speedwagon, but, like the Moody Blues, I've heard it's political.
    I thought long and hard about Joan Baez, but, in the end, I just couldn't justify her in the so-called Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame.
    ELO is interesting, but there's just too damn many others that I feel are more deserving.
    We all have our own little Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fames, anyway. We've personally selected the inductees and we can listen to them at home, in the car, or anywhere we damn well please. We cast our vote with hard earned cash.
    Randy Keho
    20/10/2016 #3 Randy Keho
    The Moody Blues are in town next Wednesday, but I can't make it. They've been in town twice over the past 20 years and I attended both shows.
    I was a bit dismayed the last time. They had trouble syncing some pre-recorded keyboard/synthesizer parts and had to re-start a song three times. It left a little egg on their faces. I strongly considered the Zombies, mainly because of Rod Argent, but I tried not to let sentimentality influence my decisions. If that were the case, I'd made The Cars a lock. Thanks for the comments.#1
    Phillip Hubbell
    20/10/2016 #1 Phillip Hubbell
    I personally would have the Zombies in the yes column. And the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame slight of the Moody Blues made the hall dead to me.
  22. ProducerRandy Keho

    Randy Keho

    19/10/2016
    The Marshal Tucker Band: R&B with a Southern Drawl
    The Marshal Tucker Band: R&B with a Southern DrawlThe blues originated in the Mississippi Delta and spread to Chicago, but it eventually popped up in South Carolina, evidenced by The Marshal Tucker Band.Most people associate them with southern rock, but its founding members could more than hold...
    Relevant
  23. Adam Crane

    Adam Crane

    17/10/2016
    CONTEST -- Why Learn Music? -- 'Make the Case!'
    Info here: www.stringquest.com/make-the-case
    Adam Crane
    Relevant