David Breston in Lawyers and Attorneys, Criminal Law HOUSTON CRIMINAL DEFENSE LAWYER • Law Office of David A. Breston Aug 21, 2018 · 1 min read · 1.3K

DUI Arrests in Texas (2010-2016)

Data released by the Texas Department of Public Safety shows there has been a steady decline in the number of drunk driving arrests across Texas. According to the Department of public safety,  62,327 people were arrested in Texas for a DUI charge. The majority of the arrests, according to the data, show that more than 75% were males and nearly 90% were of white descent. The most common age group of those arrested fell in the 25 to 29-year-old age group. 

DUI Arrests in Texas (2010-2016)Texas Penal Code 49.04 

This penal code refers to anyone who is arrested for driving while intoxicated. Law enforcement uses your BAC or Blood Alcohol Concentration to determine whether or not someone is too intoxicated to be operating a vehicle. 

The established BAC limits in Texas are 0.08% for anyone 21 or older, 0.04% for drivers of commercial vehicles, or any detectable amount for those under 21. 

Examples of impaired driving include:

  • Driving too fast or too slow
  • Swerving
  • Narrowly turning a corner
  • Not coming to a complete stop
  • Inconsistent braking
  • Almost hitting something or someone
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence, its advisable to seek a Houston DWI lawyer immediately. 

What To Expect

First Offense DUI

  • $2,000 in fines
  • The possibility of up to 180 days in jail
  • License suspension (90 to 365 days)
  • Additional charges for keeping your license
  • Alcohol education programs

Second Offense DUI

  • $4,000 in fines
  • 30-365 days in jail
  • license suspension for two years
  • Surcharges of $2,000 per year to keep your license (three years maximum)
  • Alcohol education programs

Third Offense DUI
  • Maximum $10,000 fine
  • 2-10 years in prison
  • Surcharges of $2,000 per year for three years
  • Alcohol education programs
  • License suspension of up to two years